Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Shaw in front on first preference votes

CURRENT deputy mayor Ben Shaw is ahead by nearly 125 votes in the race to be the next Derwent Valley mayor.

Cr Shaw and former councillor Paul Belcher are the two frontrunners, with Cr Shaw on 1350 votes and Mr Belcher on 1227. The candidate with the lowest number of votes will soon be excluded and their second-preference votes will be distributed among the remaining candidates.

First preference votes for mayor
Paul Belcher 1227
Phil Bingley 213
Chris Lester 315
Anne Salt 387
Ben Shaw 1350
Julie Triffett 828

Newcomer Jessica Cosgrove is said to be in front in the deputy mayoral contest. The publishing of the first round of results has been delayed by computer trouble at the Tasmanian Electoral Commission. Votes in the election for eight councillors have not yet been provided.

Retiring mayor Martyn Evans did not contest the top job after serving as mayor for nine years, but is hopeful of retaining a seat on council.

At the close of the polls earlier today, 4494 votes had been cast in the local election, representing a participation rate of 59.78%. The state average was 58.73%.

Click here for the latest results

No comments:

Post a Comment