Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Councillor votes now half counted

WITH half of the votes now counted in the election for eight councillors, three councilors remain at risk of losing their seats on the Derwent Valley Council.

New figures released by the Tasmanian Electoral Commission a short time ago see incumbent councillor Anne Salt replacing challenger Matt Hill in the "possible election result", subject to the rest of the votes being counted. The top five places remain unchanged from yesterday's prediction, but Luke Browning's position has improved from eighth place to sixth, at the expense of Rachel Power who drops to seventh place.

With 50% of the councillor vote now counted, the provisional outcome predicts that the new eight-member council could be (in order of election):
  • Paul Belcher
  • Ben Shaw
  • Julie Triffett
  • Martyn Evans
  • Jessica Cosgrove
  • Luke Browning
  • Rachel Power
  • Anne Salt
This  is based on a computer prediction and the result may change once the remaining ballots are counted. On the numbers, councillors Frank Pearce, Barry Lathey and James Graham would lose their seats, and Matt Hill hangs in the balance.

Councillor first preference votes (50% counted)
BELCHER, Paul 421
SHAW, Ben 401
TRIFFETT, Julie 242
EVANS, Martyn 129
POWER, Rachel 114
COSGROVE, Jessica 95
HILL, Matthew 84
GRAHAM, James 83
SALT, Anne 81
LESTER, Chris 76
HALL, Kristy 61
BINGLEY, Phillip 41
WOODS, Natasha 41
LATHEY, Barry 27 2
PEARCE, Frank 19

No comments:

Post a Comment