Tuesday, May 29, 2018

New Norfolk celebrates successful cricket season

New Norfolk's 1st Grade premiership-winning team.
AN excellent turnout of more than 60 people attended the New Norfolk Cricket Club's annual trophy presentation dinner at the  New Norfolk District Football Clubrooms recently.

The season was celebrated in style, reflecting on the club's first Southern Cricket Association 1st Grade premiership and the flags won by the 7th Grade team in the T20 and 50-over formats. Capping it all off, the club's Under 13s were also premiers in their division. It was a very successful season indeed - well played by all, on and off the field.

Chief among the trophy winners was club stalwart Stewart Rice who collected five trophies, including the 3rd Grade best all rounder/club champion award with 557 points. Seb Wishart won the same award in 1st Grade with 717 points (Lyn Harris Memorial Trophy) and in 7th Grade it was Aaron Drew with 501 points.

New Norfolk's 7th Grade premiership-winning team.
At the conclusion of the awards, life membership was bestowed on club president Jamie Hill who has worked tirelessly both as a player and administrator since joining the club back in the 2008/09 season. The passionate clubman has been president for the past six seasons. He has been a committee member and also filled the role as the club junior development officer for one season. On field, Hill has played 178 matches, been captain, scored 1458 runs, taken 161 wickets and played in two premierships with the club, one in the 50-over format and the other in the T20 format. Congratulations Jamie, you thoroughly deserve this award.

The club thanks all its trophy donors and sponsors for the 2017/18 season.

Batting aggregate
1st Grade (donated by Stewart and Sharyn Rice): Matthew Bowden, 527 runs
3rd Grade (donated  by Tammy Hill): Stewart Rice, 356 runs
7th Grade (donated by Julie Triffett): David Mitchelmore, 330 runs

Batting average
1st Grade (donated by Tania and Dave): Matthew Bowden, 43.92
3rd Grade (donated by Rohan Heron): Stewart Rice, 32.36
7th Grade (donated by Nathan Heron): David Mitchelmore, 30.00

Bowling aggregate
1st Grade (donated by Vicki Morgan): Jason Rigby, 25 wickets
3rd Grade (donated by Kev Sturzaker): Jamie Hill, 20 wickets
7th Grade (donated by Steve and Teena): Stuart Muir, 23 wickets

Bowling average
1st Grade (donated by the Morgan Family): Seb Wishart, 14.95
3rd Grade (donated by Julie Triffett): Jamie Hill, 10.40
7th Grade (donated by Heiko and Julie Hannibal): Zaheer Hussain, 8.05

Best all rounder/club champion
1st Grade (donated by Daniel and Anita Vagg) Lyn Harris Memorial Trophy: Seb Wishart, 717 points
3rd Grade (donated by Glenn and Robyn): Stewart Rice, 557 points
7th Grade (donated by Banjos New Norfolk): Aaron Drew, 501 points

Best first year player (donated by Seb Wishart): Zaheer Hussain
Coaches Award (donated by Jason Rigby): Coby Kemmler
Duck Award (donated by Stephen Nichols): Stuart Muir, 4
Charlie Eiszele Perpetual Trophy (donated by Adrian Eiszele) Best Club Person: Stephen Nichols
Best Under-21 Player (donated by Glen and Rachel Williams): Mitchell Rice, 411 points
Most Improved (donated by Leigh Berry): Jye Bearman
Encouragement Award (donated by Josh Walsh): Jake Stevenson

Most catches
1st Grade (donated by Banjos New Norfolk): Joe McCulloch, 10
3rd Grade (donated by Adam Nossiter): Jarrod Browning, 10
7th Grade (donated by Banjo's New Norfolk): Andrew Callander, 13

Best fielder
1st Grade (donated by Jamie Hill): Jason Rigby, 9 votes
3rd Grade (donated by Daniel and Anita Vagg): Josh Walsh, 6 votes
7th Grade (donated by Trent Mayne): Nathan Heron, 6 votes

Best T20 player
1st Grade (donated by Tony Clay): Stewart Rice
3rd Grade (donated by Craig Farrell): Josh Rowlands
7th Grade (donated by Paul Reed, PRD Nationwide): Steven Sillifant

Best in Finals
1st Grade (donated by Darren Clark): Matthew Bowden
7th Grade (donated by Brian Mitchell): Aaron Drew

Centuries scored
Stewart Rice, 3rd Grade, 128 v Campania (donated by Julie Triffett)

Five-wicket hauls
Nathan Eiszele, 1st Grade, 5-26 (8.4) v St Aidans (donated by NNDFC Clubrooms)
Josh Rowlands 3rd Grade, 6-30 (9.5) v Old Beach (donated by NNDFC Clubrooms)
Aaron Drew, 7th Grade, 6-38 (10) v Derwent (donated by Vicki Morgan)
Mitchell Rice, 7th Grade 5-31 (10) v Montagu Bay

No comments:

Post a Comment