Friday, March 2, 2018

Where to vote tomorrow

POLLING places will operate at the following local venues for tomorrow's State Election. Voting is compulsory and polling places will be open from 8am to 6pm. You can vote at any polling place in Tasmania.

  • Dromedary Community Hall, 14 Millvale Rd, DROMEDARY
  • Glenora District High School, 620 Gordon River Rd, GLENORA 
  • Granton Memorial Hall, Lyell Hwy, GRANTON 
  • Lachlan Community Hall, 511 Lachlan Rd, LACHLAN
  • Magra CWA Building, Back River Rd, MAGRA
  • Maydena, Giant's Table Cottages, 9-13 Junee Rd, MAYDENA
  • Molesworth Community Hall, 560 Molesworth Rd, MOLESWORTH
  • New Norfolk Primary School, 8 Pioneer Ave, NEW NORFOLK
  • New Norfolk, Fairview Primary School, 211 Back River Rd, NEW NORFOLK
  • Ouse Online Access Centre, 6947 Lyell Hwy, OUSE
  • Westerway Primary School, 1619 Gordon River Rd, WESTERWAY

In the order announced by the electoral commission, the candidates for the division of Lyons are:

Michael Kent, mayor, of Orford
Chris Reynolds, sole trader transport services, of Lindisfarne
Bob Vervaart, disability support pensioner, Primrose Sands

Guy Barnett, Member of Parliament, of Newstead
Rene Hidding, Member of Parliament, of Youngtown
Jane Howlett, self-employed, of Battery Point
Mark Shelton, Member of Parliament, of Bracknell
John Tucker, farmer, of St Helens

Jen Butler, political adviser, of Perth
Darren Clark, electorate officer, of Bagdad
Gerard Gaffney, seafarer, of Railton
Janet Lambert, electorate officer, of Devon Hills
Rebecca White, Member of Parliament, of Orielton
Kylie Wright, employment consultant/small business owner, of St Helens

Fraser Brindley, policy advisor, of Evandale
Helen Hutchinson, health sociologist, of Western Creek
Lucy Landon-Lane, artist, of Bicheno
Glenn Millar, volunteer, mechanic, gardener, tourism, of Forcett
Gary Whisson, environmental consultant, of Orford

Matthew Allen, builder, of Perth
Shane Broadby, shift process plant operator, of Bellerive
Carlo Di Falco, council employee, of Forcett
Andrew Harvey, retired, of Loira
Wayne Turale, retired, of Bronte Park

Tennille Murtagh, community representative, of Bridgewater
Kim Peart, visual artist, of Ross


  1. I understand it's not the Molesworth Primary School, but the Community Hall on the Molesworth Rec Ground (due to the school having to move its library into their former hall)

    1. Thanks for the tip & the post is now updated. Several locations have changed since the last election and some polling places have disappeared altogether.