Monday, October 10, 2016

Junior best and fairests to Triffett and Golding

Caleb Triffett and Harry Foster.
AFTER another successful season, the New Norfolk Junior Football Cub has held its annual vote count and trophy presentation.

In the Under 16s it was a very tight affair with Caleb Triffett (24 votes) taking out the Geoff and Carol Horne Medal, pipping runner up Harry Foster by two votes. Triffett has had a good year and was runner up in the Southern Tasmanian Junior Football League best and fairest. Jye Bearman with 20 votes and Rhys Franklin with 19 also polled well in the club medal count.

In the Under 13s it was a much different result with Braydon Golding taking out the Stephen and Tina Rhodes Medal with 59 votes.. In an excellent season, Golding also took out the STJFL best and fairest award. Billie Green has showed much consistency over the last two seasons and polled 39 votes to be runner up in the Rhodes Medal. Riley Higgins was next on 34 votes.

Billie Green and Braydon Golding.
Well done to all players and trophy winners. Following the trophy presentations, Under 18s coach Michael Graham was presented with Life Membership of the NNJFC. Graham has served the club well over a period of nine years.

The tireless volunteer began coaching in 2007 (Under 8s) and continued to 2015 (Under 16s). In 2014 he guided the Under 16s to the premiership. Michael's record in other positions held during this time has been second to none: vice president of Under 8s to Under 12s and then the Under 13s to Under 16s; coach co-ordinator; property officer and organiser of the popular annual family breakfast. Michael is now the 12th life member of the club.

It was also great to see life members Chris Lovell, David Banks and Rodney Williams in attendance as well as Lisa Rhodes and Leigh Horne who presenting their families' respective medals.

Michael Graham.
Congratulations to the Under 16s for taking out the STJFL premiership last month and also to the Under 13s who made it to the preliminary final. Both teams conducted themselves very well over the season.

Finally, a big shout out to the NNJFC board, its coaches and team managers. Your untiring efforts don't go unnoticed and your contribution is what makes it all happen each year. Well done.



Stephen and Tina Rhodes Medal for Best and Fairest: Braydon Golding.
Runner Up: Billie Green.
Coaches Award: Hayden Kennedy.
Coaches Award: Jordan George.
Most Improved: Joshua Whyte.
Most Consistent: Riley Higgins.

Geoff and Carol Horne Medal for Best and Fairest: Caleb Triffett.
Runner Up: Harry Foster.
Coaches Award: Corey Keleher.
Most Improved: Brock Triffett.
Most Consistent: Thomas Rainbird.

No comments:

Post a Comment