Sunday, September 18, 2016

Blair Wardlaw is the Eagles' best for 2016

Blair Wardlaw
HARD-WORKING onballer Blair Wardlaw has been named the New Norfolk District Football Club's senior best-and-fairest player for 2016. Wardlaw has really stepped up this season and took out the prestigious Les Hepper Medal by just one vote from four-time winner Michael Thompson.

Senior coach Matthew Smith was full of praise for Wardlaw, describing him as a talented hard worker. "Blair has put in a big pre-season and trained every night this season and his efforts have paid off," Smith said during the presentations at the clubrooms last Sunday.

In the Reserves division, backman Corey Ransley with 63 votes took out the Roydon Howard Medal by four votes from Tom Bligh. Returning to football after three seasons off, Ransley played a pivotal roll down back for the Eagles in a consistent effort all season.

Brin Tomlin
In the Colts' contest for the J.H. Dixon Medal, Brin Tomlin polled 39 votes to win his first best and fairest award. Having missed the first four matches of the season due to a broken toe and another game during the season, Tomlin did exceptionally well to take out the award, finishing two votes clear of last years Under 16's winner Zac Triffett on 37 votes.

There was a large attendance for the medal counts and it wasn't just the players, with of the club's faithful supporters present. IT was a day of very close calls, With all three divisions closely contested from start to finish, the winners were not known until the final votes were called.

With the signatures of coach Matthew Smith and some former players already on the dotted line, season 2017 is shaping to be good one.

Best and Fairest votes

SENIORS: Blair Wardlaw 43 votes (winner), Michael Thompson 42, Jacob Wigg, Rohan Heron, Nic Clayton, Ben Lovell, Nathan Eiszele, Jon Murray, Shane Bonnitcha, Luke Joseph, Nathan Lester, Robert Thompson 8, Jordan Gunther 6, Mitchell Rainbird 6, Clinton Curtain 5, Brandon King 4, Ashley Burgess 3, Tyson Eiszele 3, Jake King 2, Joshua Van-Lierop 2, Kyle Hansen 2 and Tristan Triffitt 2.

RESERVES: Corey Ransley 63 votes (winner), Tom Bligh 59, Andrew Minchin, Tristan Triffett 22, Jackson Ackerly 21, Todd Jarvis 12, Damian Triffett 11, Aaron Triffett 11, Kyle Walker 10, Trent Duggan 9, Darcy Triffett 9, Matthew Jones 8, Christian Miles 7, Jesse Wallner 7, Zac Clayton 3, Josh Walsh 3, Brayden Withers 3, Tyler Purdon 3, Lucas Harris 3, Joseph Papera 3, Joshua Van-Lierop 2, Nicholas Coy 2, Jamie Hill 2, Dean King 2, Nicholas Santi 1, Conlan Balmer 1, Josh Kelly 1 and Jack Taylor-Evans 1.

COLTS (Under 18s); Brin Tomlin 39 votes (winner), Zac Triffett 37 votes, Jaidyn Fisher-Cooley 35, Tyler Heron 33, Zac Crosswell 30, Rowan Thomason 20, Jack Evans 17, Shayne Upton 12, Dylan Keleher 12, Luke Crosswell 12, Jake Campbell 11, Dylan Morgan 10, Austin York 9, Billy Pauly 8, Joshua Ransley 8, Joshua Russell 7, Jake Bearman 6, Dylan Coppleman 6, Dakoda Smith 4, James Graham 4, Brodie Wilton 3 and Brandon Higgins 1.

Irene Howard presents the Reserves best and
fairest trophy to Corey Ransley.
Trophy winners
SENIORS - Les Hepper Medal (Best & Fairest): Blair Wardlaw;  Best & Fairest Runner-up: Michael Thompson; Most Improved: Jordan Gunther; Coaches Award: Nathan Eiszele; Most Consistent: Rohan Heron; Best Clubman: Ben Lovell; Boy Wilton Best Backman Award: Jordan Gunther; Lyn Harris Memorial - Best Backman: Jacob Wigg; Betty Crosswell Rising Star Award: Tyson Eiszele; Leading Goal Kicker: Michael Thompson.

RESERVES - Roydon Howard Medal (Best & Fairest): Corey Ransley; Best & Fairest Runner-up: Tom Bligh 59; Most Improved: Aaron Triffitt; Coaches Award: Luke Wheeler; Most Consistent: Tom Bligh; Best Clubman: Ricky Jackson; Boy Wilton Best Backman Award: Corey Ransley; Leading Goal Kicker: Jesse Wallner.

COLTS (Under 18s) - J.H. Dixon Medal (Best & Fairest): Brin Tomlin; Best & Fairest Runner-up: Zac Triffett; Most Improved: Rowan Thomason; Coaches Award: Austin York; Most Consistent: Jaidyn Fisher-Cooley; Best Clubman: Shayne Upton; Boy Wilton Best Backman Award: Luke Crosswell; Leading Goal Kicker: Joshua Russell; Taylor Lacey Memorial: Dylan Coppleman.

No comments:

Post a Comment