Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Celebrated citizens

The faces on the wall at Lees Corner.
THE Derwent Valley's citizens of the year for 2016 will be named at the Australia Day celebrations at the Derwent Esplanade in New Norfolk later today.

Mayor Martyn Evans will make the announcements shortly after noon today. Events on the Esplanade will get under way at 10am with the start of the annual fun run and walk.

Click here for details of the full program of Australia Day events.

Meanwhile the Derwent Valley Council has also been celebrating the contribution of local volunteers by featuring their faces on the wall at Lees Corner in High St.

Community groups such as service clubs and emergency services were invited to nominate members to be photographed and a selection of these went up on the wall just before Christmas.

The following people were the first batch selected for the wall. Most of them represent more than the single organisation listed under their photo below.

Michael Farley
Molesworth Hall

Barry Adlard
Lions Club of New Norfolk

Viv Cardwell
Bushy Park Hall

Shirley Brown
Hospital Auxiliary

Dick Andrew
Lions Club of New Norfolk

Fiona Cardwell
Lions Club of New Norfolk

Bruce Lamb
Can-Hope Cancer Support

Heather Andrew
Lions Club of New Norfolk

Helen Hynes
Hospital Auxiliary

Peter Rouleston
Derwent Valley Rotary Club

Sue Farley
St Vincent de Paul

Margaret Bester
Lions Club of New Norfolk

No comments:

Post a Comment