Sunday, May 11, 2014

Gretna celebrates its cricket season

Bruce Emery, left, and Mathew Burns collected
 several trophies each at the recent Gretna Cricket
Club annual dinner and trophy presentation.
Story and photo by WADE GLEESON

GRETNA Cricket Club celebrated the 2013/14 season with its annual dinner and trophy night at the Gretna Hall. About 60 people enjoyed an excellent night and the hall was decked out in the club colours of green and gold for a fitting end to the season.

During the trophy presentations it was Mathew Burns, Peter Jelkic and Bruce Emery who were the standouts, collecting a number of trophies each with Burns taking out the Gretna I best all-rounder award for the third season in a row.

Club president Peter Rainbird noted that it had been the club’s most successful season in the Southern Cricket Association, which it had joined in 2008/09. Gretna II won the Fourth Grade premiership under the captaincy of Joey Eyles and Gretna I under captain Glenn Blackwell finished third in Second Grade. The juniors also had a great season with the Under 15s finishing runners-up in their grand final while a new generation of Under 13s began their cricket careers.
Life members in attendance were Peter Rainbird, David Smith, Joey Hack, Michael Browning, Paul Jarvis, Glenn Blackwell, Micky Rainbird, Tim Lowe, Mathew Burns. It was also great to again see the Central Highlands mayor Deirdre Flint in attendance.

The club wishes to thank all sponsors and trophy donors and also its office bearers: president Peter Rainbird. secretary Todd Jarvis and treasurer Glenn Blackwell. Lastly, congratulations to Ben and Shannon Rainbird on the safe arrival of  their baby Grace Jane, a sister for Amber and Ruby.

Trophy winners
Gretna I batting average: Mathew Burns, 45.29; Aggregate: Mathew Burns, 770 runs. Bowling average: Craig Cunningham, 13.15; Aggregate: Craig Cunningham and Aaron Maddox 27 wickets each; Most catches: Glenn Blackwell 18; Geoff Jarvis Memorial Trophy best all-rounder: Mathew Burns, 425 pts; Players award: Mathew Burns, 20.5 votes, Runner up: Ben Rainbird, 16 votes: Best in Finals: Ben Rainbird 100.5 points.

Gretna II batting average: Bruce Emery 44.64; Aggregate Bruce Emery 491 runs; Bowling average: Peter Jelkic 9.79; Aggregate, Peter Jelkic 38 wickets; Most catches, Brian Smith 24; Best all-rounder: Peter Jelkic 364.5 pts; Players award: Peter Jelkic, 23.5 votes, Runner up: Matthew Eyles 22 votes; Cecil Gray Memorial Trophy (best under 21): Brock Nichols, 270 pts; Captains Trophy: Daniel Browning; Best Clubman: Ben Rainbird. Duck Trophy: Cody Eyles and Brock Nichols, four each.

Milestone matches
Club: Ben Rainbird 250, Brian Smith 250, Craig Cunningham 150, Tom Allcock 100, Bruce Emery 200.
Gretna I: Glenn Blackwell 250, Ben Rainbird 200, Corey Ransley 100, Damien Hack 100, Aaron Maddox 50, Todd Jarvis 50.
Gretna II: Brian Smith 150, Nick Wakefield 50, Adam Browning 50.

No comments:

Post a Comment