Thursday, April 10, 2014

Valley school invited to seek extension

GLENORA District High School has been invited to apply to be one of the first Tasmanian schools to be extended to Years 11 and 12 under the new State Government's education reform proposals.

"I have today written to all rural and regional high schools in Tasmania asking for formal expressions of interest in extending their school to Year 12," Education and Training Minister Jeremy Rockliff said earlier today.

"Our Year 7-12 Implementation Plan will see 21 high schools in rural and regional areas extended to Year 12 by 2018, with all high schools extended by the end of 2024. We will provide a total of $45.5 million over four years towards extending these initial high schools, this will allow for the employment of up to 105 new teachers and $6 million for capital works."

Mr Rockliff said the government aimed to improve Year 12 completion rates by providing choice for students at danger of dropping out post-Year 10. "These are the students who for one reason or another are not making it to college," he said.

In 2001 Glenora District High School started offering a small range of subjects for mature-aged students at the Glenora Skill Centre which was established in a former dental clinic adjacent to the school. According to the website, the Glenora Skill Centre ceased to be a registered training organisation in January 2012.

Based on an Australian Bureau of Statistics definition of non-urban areas, t he following schools have been invited to express interest in the first year of extending to Grades 11-12: Exeter High, Bothwell District High, Campania District High, Campbell Town District High, Cressy District High, King Island District High, Oatlands District High, Penguin District School, Triabunna District School, Woodbridge School, Yolla District High, Cape Barren Island School, Deloraine High, Dover District High, Flinders Island District High, Glenora District High, Huonville High, Lilydale District, Mountain Heights School, Port Dalrymple School, Rosebery District High, Scottsdale High, Sheffield School, Smithton High, St Helens District High, St Marys District High, Tasman District School and Winnaleah District High School.

No comments:

Post a Comment