Wednesday, April 2, 2014

New Norfolk's big win

New Norfolk I, Southern Cricket Association Second Grade
premiers for 2013/14. Photo by Jamie Hill.
IN scintillating style, New Norfolk I claimed its first Southern Cricket Association Second Grade grand final on Saturday, defeating Molesworth I by a whopping 166 runs. After wining the toss, Molesworth sent the Red Caps in to bat. In a terrific all-round effort, the New Norfolk had all the answers for Molesworth.

With the bat it was run machine Stewart Rice's 103 that gave New Norfolk the start it needed. Rice clubbed and incredible 13 sixes and three fours for a total of 90 runs from boundaries. He also put on a 91-run stand with Dave Maddox who also did well making 64. Opener Jake King made 41 and New Norfolk ended with 7 for 284 off their 50 overs. Nathan Eiszele tried hard with the ball for Molesworth, taking 3-34 to be the best with the ball.

In reply Molesworth was never in the hunt and was bowled out for 118, having been 6 for 56 at one stage. The damage was done by the Red Caps frontline bowlers Josh Rowlands 4-32 and Josh Dykes 4-45 who steamrolled the Molesworth batsmen with little fuss. Nathan Eiszele was the only batsman to show any resilience, making 35 including five fours and a six. Jake King picked up one wicket as did Stewart Rice who capped off a very rewarding day and was named player of the match.

Well done to New Norfolk I captain Rohan Heron and his team. I'm sure the celebrations lasted quite a few days. I hear there was a good crowd at Tynwald Park on Saturday and the canteen did a good trade. Well done to all involved.

New Norfolk I was the best team all season and has waited for this for quite some time, with their last premiership coming back in the Derwent Valley Cricket Association, defeating Bushy Park in 2001/02 B-Grade grand final. The last A-Grade DVCA premiership for New Norfolk I was in 1998-99 when they defeated Old Beach for their fourth straight premiership. Players from Saturdays win who were playing back then were Stewart Rice, Adrian Eiszele and Ashley Morgan - with all three playing in both grand finals.

New Norfolk I 7 for 284 off 50 overs (11 extras) d Molesworth I 10 for 118 off 28.1 overs (11 extras) at Tynwald Park.
Batting - New Norfolk: S. Rice 103. D. Maddox 64. J. King 41. R. Graham 25. R. Heron 18. J. Maddox 13. Bowling - Molesworth: N. Eiszele 3-34 (8). B. Coppleman 2-44 (10). M. Smith 1-30 (7). D. King 1-48 (9).
Batting - Molesworth: N. Eiszele 35. N. Piuselli 25. C. Neads 15. D. King 15 not out. Bowling - New Norfolk: J. Rowlands 4-32 (8.1). J. Dykes 4-45 (10). S. Rice 1-9 (4). J. King 1-15 (4).
Player of the match: Stewart Rice.

No comments:

Post a Comment