Monday, February 17, 2014

Local women nominate for Lyons

TWO New Norfolk women and a New Norfolk-born man are among the latest State Election candidates named at the weekend. The Tasmanian Greens have named recent Federal Election candidate Pippa Brinklow among its team of four to support the party's lead candidate and New Norfolk resident Tim Morris MHA, while the Tasmanian Nationals have endorsed New Norfolk's Anne Salt and former resident Brett Hall in that party's team of five for Lyons.

Mr Morris is the Greens' lead candidate and sitting Member for Lyons in the Tasmanian Parliament. “After serving 12 years in the Parliament on your behalf I have plenty of experience  and enthusiasm to continue to represent the community well,” Mr Morris said on Friday. “Lyons needs to have a strong Green voice who will speak on environmental, social and economic matters concerning our dispersed communities. I am very pleased to lead a strong Green team who come from all corners of the electorate.”

Ms Brinklow is a registered nurse with qualifications in community service management and business management. She lives in New Norfolk with her partner Tim Morris and has spent the last 20 years developing and managing health and aged care, community housing and vocational education and training programs throughout Tasmania.

Adult literacy support worker Anne Salt is one of two Tasmanian National Party candidates with local connections. A New Norfolk resident for many years, she lists a number of community projects in her campaign material, including the positions of secretary and chairman of the Friends of Willow Court; co-ordinator of the New Norfolk Neighbourhood Watch (2009-2012); and service on the Derwent Valley Council's spatial planning committee and heritage trail committee. She is an advocate for Willow Court to be formally recognized as a “Site of Conscience”.

Also among the Tasmanian Nationals candidates is Brett Hall, now of Oatlands, who was born at New Norfolk and educated at Ouse District High School.

This brings the list of declared local candidates to:
  • Paul Belcher (Independent), New Norfolk-born
  • Pip Brinklow, of New Norfolk (Tasmanian Greens)
  • Martyn Evans, of Magra (Liberal Party)
  • Jessey Dillon, of New Norfolk (Australian Labor Party)
  • Brett Hall (Tasmanian Nationals), New Norfolk-born.
  • Tim Morris MHA, of New Norfolk (Tasmanian Greens)
  • Anne Salt, of New Norfolk (Tasmanian Nationals)
  • Wayne Shoobridge, of New Norfolk (Palmer United Party)

All intending candidates for Lyons are welcome to send a profile and photo to the New Norfolk News.

No comments:

Post a Comment