Thursday, December 12, 2013

Concert band's big year

Belle Pearson and Susan Reppion-Brook
THE Derwent Valley Concert Band's 20th anniversary had been a year to remember, president and music director Layton Hodgetts told last night's annual general meeting in the New Norfolk War Memorial Hall.

The meeting conferred a long-overdue and well-deserved life membership of the band on Mr Hodgetts and heard that the Belle Pearson Award for Consistent Endeavour had been awarded to Susan Reppion-Brook.

The election of office-bearers saw Mr Hodgetts returned as president for the next year. Recently returned founding member Doug Boote was elected vice-president, Antony Cave as secretary and Ashleigh Clark was returned as treasurer. Elected to the committee were Leeanne Clark, Amanda James, Tara Johns, Anne Gourlay and Nick Bennett.

To celebrate the band's 20th anniversary, certificates of service were presented to all members of the band and special mention was made of the band's patron, Belle Pearson, and journalist Damian Bester for their ongoing support since the band was established in 1993.

No comments:

Post a Comment