Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Pocket rocket bags William Leitch Medal

Nathan Ross
IN a close and high-voting count for the SFL Best and Fairest award last night, New Norfolk on-baller Nathan Ross won his second William Leitch Medal in three years. Ross, who returned to the Eagles this season after a year with Woodsdale, won with 27 votes - three clear of Kingborough's Grant King on 24 votes.

With one round to go, things got very close with King getting three votes taking his tally to 24 and equalling Ross. But with an excellent performance against the East Coast Bombers, Ross or "Weapon" as he is known, got the three votes and secured his second William Leitch Medal. Nathan Brown from the Claremont Football Club polled 32 votes and would have won the medal, but was suspended in the final round.

Kris Cashion
Earlier in the night New Norfolk Under 18s player Bryce Kaye finished runner-up to Sorell's Riley Bachelor for the Colts best and fairest. Both players were equal with one round to go, but Bachelor just got ahead to win the award. In the Reserves, New Norfolk hard man Tristan Triffett was also runner-up after an excellent season. New Norfolk goal ace Kris Cashion won the reserves goal kicking award.

Ross has had an excellent season and has certainly punched well above his height and weight. After winning the William Leitch in 2011, Ross had a year with Woodsdale where he played in their premiership side and won the ODFA best and fairest. Ross and the Eagles now have a much bigger thing to accomplish - the 2013 SFL premiership! Going on his and the whole team's form this season, they should romp it in. If the Eagles can bring home their 25th senior premiership and 11th reserves premiership this Saturday, it will certainly make for one big party here in the valley.

Ross is the 16th New Norfolk player to win the medal since Jim Brown became the club's first William Leitch Medallist in 1948. The list is as follows:

NNDFC - William Leitch Medal Winners
1948 - Jim Brown
1951 - Rex Garwood
1952 - Cliff Busch
1954 - Bruce Roe
1955 - Rex Garwood
1958 - Rex Garwood
1961 - Roger Browning
1962 - Roger Browning
1972 - Ricky Graham
1974 - Tony Browning
1981 - Robbie Dykes
1985 - Graham Hunnibell
1990 - Ricky Hanlon
1993 - Rene Peters
2004 - Brock Ackerly and Roger Belcher
2007 - Brad Carver
2009 - Roger Belcher
2011 - Nathan Ross
2012 - Michael Thompson
2013 - Nathan Ross

The Mercury newspaper has the William Leitch story here.

No comments:

Post a Comment