Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Netball association trophy night

Kylie Walker and Laura Eiszele
Report and photos by WADE GLEESON

THE Derwent Valley Women's Netball Association held its summer roster trophy night at the New Norfolk District Football Clubrooms on May 18. All teams were well represented which made for an excellent night.

Kylie Walker did very well, winning the A Grade best and fairest trophy, while Abbie Gregson took out B Grade and Finn Roberts C Grade. After the meal and trophy presentations, some kicked up their heels on the dancefloor while others reflected on the season that was.

All teams would like to thank the following office bearers and umpires for yet another great roster - president and treasurer Stacey Benson, vice-president Michelle Nichols, secretary Renee Chaplin and umpires Trudi Townsend, Leanne Cutlan and Debbie Foster.

President Stacey Benson who works very hard behind the scenes said the next roster will start in around four weeks time. At this stage there are 10 teams expected, which is great for this time of the year. If you would like to start your own team or join a existing one, go to the Derwent Valley Women's Netball Association Facebook page. Congratulations to all trophy winners.

Trophy Winners
A Grade best and fairest: Kylie Walker
Runner up: Laura Eiszele
B Grade best and fairest: Abbie Gregson
Runner up: Claire Causby
C Grade best and fairest: Finn Roberts
Runner up: Mandy Eiszele

Most Consistent for each team

  • Comos: Danica Street
  • Celtics: Tenille Butler
  • Redskins: Peta Jelkic
  • K-Oss: Vanessa Fletcher
  • Prada: Julie Bowring
  • Bushrats: Annie McKenzie
  • Bluebirds: Kerrie-Anne McGuire
  • Calypso: Debbie Midson
  • Amazeballs: Hayley Roberts
  • Fusion: Emily Eiszele
  • All Blacks: Jane Cloudsdale

Belinda Maher Memorial Trophy (Best Under 21 player): Hayley Roberts

Best In Finals

  • A Grade: Reagan Plunkett
  • B Grade: Maddi Tomkinson
  • C Grade: Mandy Eiszele

Haley Roberts

Mandy Eiszele, left, Abbie Gregson and Claire Causby

No comments:

Post a Comment