Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Eagles win grand final replay

Southern Football League - Round 5
New Norfolk v Lindisfarne at Boyer Oval

REIGNING champ New Norfolk had a convincing win in the SFL grand final replay against Lindisfarne at Boyer by 40 points, returning to the top of the ladder. Seven goals to two in New Norfolk’s favour in the first quarter was enough to set up the win and a 44-point half time lead was always going to be hard to pin back.

Michael Thompson has certainly returned to form and led the scoring for New Norfolk with six majors, whilst Zeke Gardam bagged five goals with the experienced Roger Belcher continues to deliver in big games and was best afield.

Lindisfarne showed some signs of good football, winning the last quarter by kicking eight goals to five but the game was well beyond a comeback by that stage. For Lindisfarne, Justin Marriott and Justin Myers were the best players with Myers leading the way on the scoreboard with five goals.

There was no Reserves game earlier in the day as Lindisfarne forfeited to New Norfolk due to a lack of available players.

In the Under 18s the Kingborough Tiger colts travelled to Boyer and came out on top by 17 points over New Norfolk in the variation game of the round.

Report provided for publication by Ben Harrison
SFL Football Operations Management

New Norfolk 7.4 10.6 13.12 18.16 (124)
Lindisfarne 2.1 3.4 5.4 13.6 (84)
Goals - New Norfolk: M. Thompson 6, Z. Gardam 5, B. Booth 2, B. Wardlaw, N. Ross, N. Clayton, R. Belcher, B. Chaplin; Lindisfarne: J. Myers 5, J. Marriott 2, G. Quirk, J. Mitchell, P. Bass, D. Colbeck, D. Blazely, M. Stevenson.
Best - New Norfolk: R. Belcher, L. Post, M. Thompson, N. Ross, R. Heron, B. Booth; Lindisfarne: J. Marriott, J. Myers, P. Bass, N. Braslin, M. Stevenson. 

New Norfolk defeated Lindisfarne on forfeit.

Kingborough 2.3 3.5 6.6 9.6 (60)
New Norfolk 1.2 2.6 3.8 5.13 (43)
Goals - Kingborough: J. Paul 2, T. Butters 2, H. Bradburn 2, D. McAully, J. Nichols, C. Rawson; New Norfolk: A. Triffitt, B. Kaye, H. Bielleman, N. Wakefield, J. Banks-Smith.
Best - Kingborough: C. Rawson, T. Carter, L. Hartog, S. Legro, S. Louw, A. Golding; New Norfolk: C. Neads, B. Boatwright, J. Banks-Smith, M. Thurston, R. Wakefield, J. Daley.

No comments:

Post a Comment