Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Gretna Cricket Club trophy night

Peter Rainbird
THE curtain has come down on another cricket season for the Gretna Cricket Club with the annual dinner and trophy night at the Gretna Hall. About 80 people turned out to what was yet another excellent night.

During the trophy presentations Craig Cunningham, Joey Eyles and Mathew Burns collected four trophies each. Burns was later awarded life membership of the club and is a worthy recipient having been a loyal member playing a total of 22 seasons. He has won many awards and played in five premierships with Gretna I. He captained Gretna II in 2010-11 and is the 16th life member at the club.    

Club president Peter Rainbird spoke of the past season, noting that it was the first time Gretna I had played in the finals of the SCA since joining in 2008-09. He congratulated captains Ben Rainbird (Gretna I) and Todd Jarvis (Gretna II) for a top job throughout the season and noted that the juniors had now been going for three seasons and were the future of the club.

Gretna I trophy winners – Batting average: Mathew Burns, 45.75. Aggregate: Mathew Burns, 732 runs. Bowling average: Craig Cunningham, 14.06. Aggregate: Craig Cunningham 32 wickets. Most catches: Glenn Blackwell 29. Geoff Jarvis Memorial Trophy (best all-rounder): Mathew Burns, 517 pts. Players award: Mathew Burns, 24 votes. Runner up: Craig Cunningham, 16 votes. Best in finals: Craig Cunningham 43.5 pts.

Gretna II trophy winners - Batting average: Brian Smith 27.08, 36.2. Aggregate Nicholas Wakefield 327 runs. Bowling average: Joey Eyles 15.70. Aggregate, Joey Eyles 25 wickets. Most catches: Brian Smith 10. Best all-rounder: Joey Eyles 276.5pts. Players award: Joey Eyles, 16 votes. Runner up: Adam Browning 14 votes. Cecil Gray Memorial Trophy (best under 21): Cameron Emery, 225.5 pts. Captains Trophy: Adam Browning. Best Clubman: Peter Rainbird. Duck Trophy: Peter Jelkic 5.

Congratulations to the following players for reaching game milestones during the season - Club Games:  Mathew Burns 300, Glenn Blackwell 300, Damien Hack 200, Corey Ransley 100, Todd Jarvis 100, Jackson Ackerly 100, Ben Shaw 100, Rhys Browning 50, Adam Browning 50, Nick Wakefield 50, Aaron Maddox 50. Gretna I Games:  Mathew Burns 200, Craig Cunningham 100, Jackson Ackerly 50, Rhys Browning 50. Gretna II Games: Darren Lennox 100.

Mathew Burns
Life members in attendance were: Bobby Butler, Peter Rainbird, David Smith, Joey Hack, Michael Browning, Paul Jarvis, Glenn Blackwell, Micky Rainbird and Tim Lowe. It was also great to have Central Highlands Mayor Deirdre Flint present, along with many new faces in attendance which really makes the night.

The club would like to take this opportunity to thank all sponsors and trophy donors, it is very much appreciated. Also thank you to David Banks and Kathy Adams for taking us and picking us up on the bus - the after-party ended at 3.30am! Finally, well done to president Peter Rainbird, secretary Todd Jarvis and treasurer Ben Shaw. Top job fellas. See you all next season.

No comments:

Post a Comment